Welcome to the Hollywood Golden Age
Oscar Winners from 1927 to 1959

Want specific information quickly?
Let us direct you to the area you want.....

Year By Year

1927-8 1928-9 1929-30

1930-31 1931-2 1932-3 1934 1935 1936 1937 1938 1939

1940 1941 1942 1943 1944 1945 1946 1947 1948 1949

1950 1951 1952 1953 1954 1955 1956 1957 1958 1959

Introduction to The Oscars

The Oscars are administered by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) and are seen throughout the world as the ultimate accolade for excellence in all aspects of movie creation. Although the presentation ceremony has now grown to the level of a bloated circus, it started in a low key way with the best intentions. The first Academy Awards presentation ceremony was held in 1929 for work during the 1927–28 period. The ceremony ran for 15 minutes only. For the first six years the awards continued to span two calendar years. From 1934, and continuing to the present day, the awards honored achievement for the preceding single year. The ceremony was first shown live on television in 1953. It has continued to grow and grow and is now broadcast to over 200 countries.

The Statuette

It is not made of gold but of gold-plated britannium on a black metal base. It depicts, in Art Deco style, a medieval knight holding a sword and standing on a reel of film.

The Name

The origin of the name "Oscar" is hotly disputed and the argument will probably never be resolved. Contenders for the honour include Bette Davis, who claimed she named it after her first husband, band leader Harmon Oscar Nelson. Another claimant is the Academy's original librarian and director, Margaret Herrick, who first saw the award in 1931 and commented that it reminded her of her "Uncle Oscar" (a nickname for her cousin Oscar Pierce). Whoever it was, it has been officially and affectionately known as the "Oscar" since 1939, when the name was officially taken up by the Academy.